• image
  • image
  • image
  • image
  • image
  • image
  • image
  • image
  • image
  • image
Thursday, 20 October 2016 12:05

Congratulations Sr Anne Gardiner olsh for being nominated for the NT Senior Australian of the year

Territorians who are preventing suicide in their community, feeding the homeless, providing training and employment for the disadvantaged, educating young people and contributing to the community’s rich artistic landscape are among the finalists in the 2017 Northern Territory Australian of the Year Awards.

The NT Award finalists announced today are in the running to be named NT Australian of the Year, NT Senior Australian of the Year, NT Young Australian of the Year and NT Local Hero.

The 2017 Northern Territory Senior Australian of the Year finalists are:

  • Dr Paul Anthony Bauert OAM – Paediatrician (Darwin)
  • Sister Anne Gardiner AM – Community champion (Wurrumiyanga)
  • Karen Sheldon – Social entrepreneur (Parap)
  • Joy White – Community matriarch (Winnellie)


Sister Anne Gardiner AM, 85
Community champion

As a 22-year-old member of the Daughters of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart, Sister Anne Gardiner was asked to move to Bathurst Island to live among the Tiwi people. In the 62 years since, Sr Anne has devoted her life to enriching community, enhancing opportunity and supporting the Tiwi culture. An advocate of peace, love and the traditional Tiwi way of life, Sr Anne has worked tirelessly to document and preserve the Tiwi language for future generations. The Principal of the local primary school, Sr Anne has educated generations of children while also establishing community clubs, from mothers’ groups to Little Athletics. She runs regular prayer meetings, founded an op shop and established a café to raise funds to support her much-loved community. Sr Anne’s museum shares valuable stories and traditional customs, while also bringing financial benefit to the people. The cornerstone of the community, Sr Anne has earned an enduring place in the hearts of the Tiwi people.

srannegardner 880
Photo by Heidi Smith

The NT Australian of the Year, Senior Australian of the Year, Young Australian of the Year and Local Hero Award recipients will be announced on Wednesday 2 November 2016 at the Darwin Convention Centre in Darwin.

The NT Award recipients will then join recipients from all other States and Territories as finalists for the national awards, which will be held in Canberra on 25 January 2017.

National Australia Day Council CEO, Mr Chris Kirby, said the Northern Territory Award finalists are among 131 great Australians being recognised as State and Territory finalists in the Australian of the Year Awards.

"The Australian of the Year Awards allow us to recognise and celebrate the achievements of outstanding Australians – people making extraordinary contributions to our society," said Mr Kirby.

“The Northern Territory Award finalists are a diverse range of people contributing to the wellbeing and enrichment of their community – they are using their skills, their passions and their time to make a real difference.”

Commonwealth Bank has been a major sponsor of the Australian of the Year Awards for 37 years.

“We are proud to support the Australian of the Year Awards, a national program that showcases the Australian spirit,” said Mr Ian Narev, Chief Executive Officer of the Commonwealth Bank.

“Thank you to all of the State and Territory finalists, who have all have made an important contribution to their communities through their achievements.”

For more information on the Australian of the Year Awards visit australianoftheyear.org.au

Finalist bios can be viewed from http://www.australianoftheyear.org.au

Finalist photos can be downloaded from https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B3zfB7dMM-RmWWJ2ejVkOHl5cUU

Media contact: Nicole Browne 0414 673 762 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.